Teacher poll: What has dance taught you about yourself?

This week, we asked our teachers to share one thing that dance has taught them about themselves. Here are their answers:

Ali
I’ve been dancing as long as I can remember so this is a rather difficult question to answer. I do know that I wouldn’t be me if it weren’t for dance. It’s where I find my joy and where I get away from any negative.

Jeff
I am not fast enough to never get stepped on.

Ana
Through dance I learned that I’m capable of expressing myself through movement. Growing up in an academic environment, all the emphasis was on one’s mind, and the body was seen as a vehicle for your brain. Dance gave me new appreciation for our physical form.

Leave a Reply

